Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

Totem Endiga
Akabbiro Empologoma
English Sheep
Clan Leader Lwomwa
Estates Mbaale
Ssaza Mawokota
Clan motto
- Nabbosa, Nabbosa mpaawo amuliisa ndiga
- Mpa alimuliisa ndiga

Oral history and literature suggests that this clan came from the Mmamba clan of Bbemba Musota. After deposing and killing Bbemba, his clansmen were persecuted by Kintu and his new group and were in fact referred to as frogs (Bakerekere). Their head at that time was Bweete who was Bbemba’s brother. That was the beginning of a new frog clan.

Bweete worked under Kintu but did not last. He had his sheep which he would walk in parliament with and this infuriated Kintu so one day he beat the sheep out of the house. Bweete left and never came back because he felt insulted and demeaned by the young and new king. He commanded all his followers to leave Naggalabi and they went to Mbaale in Mpigi.

Bweete did not live long after settling in Mbaale. He fell sick and died but he testified that none of his people should ever eat sheep claiming that the cause of his death was a consequence of Kintu beating his sacred sheep which was never ever meant to be beaten. The sheep clan therefore came into being originating from the sheep clan.

It is claimed that the head of this clan Lwoomwa was initially called Ndalu. However, Nsimbi much as he writes that Lwoomwa is head of this clan, the historical background is very different. He writes that Sekkoba is the grandfather of the Ndiga clan. He came from Bumogera and went to Ssese at Wannemma’s place. Wannema settled him in Busanga, Kkoome and it is here he had his son Bbosa. Bbosa later became Wannema’s headman and his personal messenger to the kabaka.

Through the many encounters, the Kabaka came to like him and settled him in a place called Mutungo. It is here that he had his son Kalyesubula who eventually became the clan head and got a new name, Lwomwa.

During the conquest wars kabaka Nakibinge was fighting with the Banyoro, Kalyesubula went to Wannema’s place and got his son Kyobe Kibuuka to assist in the war unfortunately he died fighting. His disturbed and bitter father went to the kabaka and urged him to kill Kalyesubula because of his dead son. The King did not agree with Wannema but for the sake of improving relations and pleasing him, he imprisoned Kalyesubula for some time. On his way out of prison, he was too hairy and needed to shave. The name Lwomwa refers to shaving and it registered as the title of the clan head to date. Their clan seat is in Mbaale, Busiro.

Their royal duties included keeping god Kibuuka’s fetish and Lwomwa was the chief priest. They had the duty of playing the king’s drums; tadde, nantakiika and entenga.

Mpungu, Kafumbe, Ssewagudde, Ssekasanvu, Katete, Luyirika, Kaweri, Kyaka, Luzige, Ssekawu, Walunnggama, Ntamuusi, Sserubiri, Kiwuuwa, Kinobe, Ndegeya, Nkwangu, Kiwuli, Nvunyi, Kifunvu, Sebbuzi, Kanyenye, Ggoma, Mugano, Mugga, Kiramba, Ssemunja, Katulikira, Luteete, Luwenda, Ssebwato, Sserutega, Katudde, Mpindimuti, Ssemukulungwa, Mulagwe, Nammambi, Muyalu, Ssenkandwa, Ssendege, Kaddu, Bbalangasa, Kinnyogoga, Kiguli, Muyondo, Kasenge, Ssekiti, Mpande, Mikisa, Ssebamulidde, Kisuule, Ggubya, Kyalema, Bbosa

Ntabadde, Muliisa, Kuzaala, Kyayomberera, Nakakinzi, Nakiboneka, Nakyoya, Lubimbi, Bukombe, Namaziina, Nambi, Nakinyogoga, Nakiguli, Namuyondo, Nnakasenge, Nabbosa