Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

Ssingo have now won two Masaza cups

Masaza Cup final 2018

Mandela National Stadium, Namboole

Ssingo 1-1 Buddu

Ssingo wins 12-11 on penalties

Saturday, 27-10-2018


NAMBOOLE – Ssingo required spot kicks to overcome bitter rivals 12-11 on penalties and ensure they win the 2018 Airtel Masaza Cup at Namboole.

In the final played on Saturday 27th of November, both teams were locked at 1-1 after 120 minutes, requiring the spots to determine the winner.

In the Spots, Buddu missed two of its 13 kicks while Ssingo saw only one fail to hit the back of the net, to win their second ever Masaza Cup crown.

Buddu looked to be the better side in the first half but could not break down Ssingo and had to settle for 0-0 at the end of 45 minutes.

Eight minutes into the second half, lanky forward Frank Sebuufu beat an onrushing Ssingo custodian-Derrick Were to break the deadlock and put the 2016 champions 1-0 up.

Ssingo coach, Shafik Bisaso then brought on youngster Godfrey Kakooza for Mansoor Safi, a move that changed the tide of the game.

Kakooza despite being one of the shortest players on the pitch levelled matters with a header from a goal mouth scramble in the 64th minute.

After the two teams fired blanks in the remaining minutes of the game, extra time was for the first time in the competition used to try and determine the winner.

It was the first time in Masaza Cup history that a final went into extra time

The 30 minutes were pretty much uneventful as both sides looked to be tired and failed to great anything meaningful in front of goal.

The title’s destination was left to be decided by an epic penalty shootout.

Both Ssingo and Buddu flawlessly converted their first 6 penalties before the first miss.

Goal scorer Kakooza turned villain when he sent his kick above the bar to send the Buddu fans into frenzy.

Ironically, another goal scorer Frank Sebuufu did the same thing blasting the ball over the goal frame to squander Buddu’s golden chance to win the championship.

The perfect cycle continued until the 13th round of the shoot-out. Derrick Were scored his penalty to put Ssingo 12-11 up but Buddu’s Steven Sebuffu Dube put the ball over the bar.

Dube’s miss meant that Ssingo had won their second ever championship following their first triumph in 2015.

For Buddu, they will go back hurting after losing to Ssingo in yet another final. Ssingo also beat them 5-0 in the 2015 finals.

In the third place game played earlier, Busujju clinched third place after defeating Buwekula 1-0.

Ssingo’s Jude Semugabi emerged the tournament’s top scorer with 8 goals.

Buddu’s Owen Kasule was voted and the Most Valuable Player with Busujju’s Sharif Magoola took home the best goalkeeper’s gong.

The Masaza Cup past winners:

2004- Gomba

2005- Mawokota

2006- Kooki

2007- Mawokota

2008- Kyaddondo

2009- Gomba

2010- Not held

2011- Bululi

2012- Bulemeezi

2013- Mawokota

2014- Gomba

2015- Ssingo

2016- Buddu

2017- Gomba

2018- Ssingo