Totem Nnyonyi Nnyange
Akabbiro Kkunguvu
English Egret
Clan Leader Kakoto Mbaziira
Estates Bulama - Kisubi
Ssaza Busiro
Clan motto
Bampe omuggo neewerekeze, mu Kyambadde mulimu engo

The nnyonyi is among the original clans that were in Muwawa before the arrival of Kintu. The grandfather of this clan was called Njiwe and his wife was called Nakiboneka. They lived in Bulama, the present day Kisubi and they had twelve children.

There is a belief that the totem nnyonyi referred to all birds of the wilderness and not a particular bird species but in time, this changed and people took separate ways starting other clans with different bird totems. It cannot be established when this started, but there is reason to believe that this separation is connected to the house-warming ceremony Njiwe had at his home where his children had bitter disagreement amongst themselves for being served beer in blood stained utensils. This infuriated Njiwe the host and he sent away the group that served beer in dirty utensils probably causing a rift.

After his death, his son Kakoto a great hunter and medicine-man inherited his father’s estate. There is a legend that has been told from generation to generation about his journey to Kyaggwe. On his way, he found a lake and he had no boat to cross it, so he used his magical powers and turned it into a river which he was able to cross. This river which meanders through Nnamugongo was named Nnakiyanja to date.
After crossing, he was told that a brave warrior had emerged to fight Bemba in Naggalabi. He rushed to meet the warrior Kintu and joined his camp to fight and overthrow Bemba.

When Kintu became king, he assigned Kakoto to be chief of Kyaggwe. He set up his headquarters in Mukono and that is where he died. His was succeeded by his son Bbavulyantamu who moved the headquarters to Kasaayi and later on to Bulama where Njiwe lived. To date, the official estates of the nnyonyi clan is Bulama. Kakoto-Mbaziira is the title of the clan head among the nnyange.

Kakumirizi, Ssempewo, Sseruyange, Lugonda, Kawunyira, Katabira, Kitanda, Nnyombi, Mbabaali, Ssemanda, Kafuuma, Kyambadde, Zziwa, Kannamuwangi, Kazongola, Kitanda, Katabira, Kawunyira, Lugonda,

Nazziwa, Namirimu, Nannyonjo, Nakiwu, Salinge, Naluyange, Nalugonda, Nantaayi, Kiwuka, Nannyombi, Namuyanja, Salinge