Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

He was born to Prince Musanje and Nabulya Nalugwa of the Ndiga clan and his royal sister was Kabonesa. His Mulongo was called Kimulisa, his home (Nnyumba) was called Bazibumbira and the Jjembe was called Katwalo. He ruled from 1811 to 1817 and his Prime Ministers were Kabinuli and Lugoloobi both of the Nvuuma clan. His tombs are found at Kyebando in Busiro. He had forteen wives who included;

1) Gwokyalya of the Lugave clan
2) Kiriibwa of the Lugave clan
3) Magotta of the Mmamba clan
4) Misinga of the Lugave clan
5) Mbigidde of the Nvuma clan
6) Nabiweke of the Ngo clan
7) Nabugere of the Ffumbe clan
8) Nagalabe of the Å‹Å‹onge clan
9) Nalubimbi of the Kkobe clan
10) Nalwandaba of the Mmamba clan
11) Namayanja of the Mmamba clan
12) Nambooze of the Kkobe clan
13) Nanteza of the Njovu clan
14) Namayanja of the Mmamba clan.

His children included

  1. Nsekere,
  2. Ssaanya,
  3. Wakayima,
  4. Jjuuko,
  5. Mbajjwe,
  6. Nalukwakoba,
  7. Ssaku,
  8. Wango,
  9. Mukuma,
  10. Sekafuuwa,
  11. Kiribata,
  12. Kikunta,
  13. Kigoye,
  14. Kalema,
  15. Jjunju,
  16. Ssemakookiro,
  17. Wassajja Princess Kyomubi,
  18. Princess Nakayiza,
  19. Princess Zansanze,
  20. Sekafuuwa,
  21. Kiribata and
  22. Kikunta.