King (Kabaka)

The Kingdom has a centralized system of governance with the King as its titular head with absolute powers. In the past, Abataka had a lot of political influence but after 1750, the Kabaka assumed a position of political significance far superior to that of the Bataka. The position of the Kabaka is hereditary and not confined to any clan since the king takes his mother's clan.

The King would marry from as many clan as he could which would encourage loyalty to the throne in a sense that each of the 52 clans hoped to have one of their own producing a King.

A King does not perform his duties solely but is assisted by other people who take position of both political and social significance who include;
  • The Executive Prime Minister- Katikkiro
  • The Mugema
  • The royal sister - Nnalinnya
  • The Queen Mother- Namasole
  • The Naval and Army Commanders referred to as Gabunga and Mujasi respectively.

For easier ruling and quicker communication to the subjects, the Kingdom is partitioned into administrative units famously known as Amasaza (Counties) which are sub-divided into Amagombolola ( Sub-Counties) which are also sub-divided into Emiruka (Parishes) which are also sub-divided into sub- parishes. The smallest unit is the Bukungu which is more or less a village unit.

All the above chiefs were appointed by the Kabaka and were directly responsible to him. He could assign or dismiss any chief at any time. However, by the end of 1750, chieftainship was taken to be open for any one to qualify. It was also awarded on clan basis but only to men of merit with notable services.

The practice of power sharing was introduced by Kinto Kato who delegated some of his powers to two Executive Prime Ministers (Bakatikkiro) who included Kisolo Muwanga and Kakulukuku. He also introduced the position of the royal sister by appointing Kabonesa as the first royal sister. Ssekabaka Kintu also delegated other powers to the Cabinet of ministers (Akakiiko Akafuzi), the Lukiiko (Parliament), County Chiefs, Sub-County Chiefs, Parish Chiefs, Clan heads ( Abataka Abakulu Ab'Obusolya), the Bafuma and the Village Chiefs. This made governing of the Kingdom very easy making it very popular in the region.

Buganda Kingdom consists of the following counties, headed by the county chiefs:
  1. Kyaddondo headed by the Kaggo.
  2. Ssingo headed by the Mukwenda.
  3. Kyaggwe headed by the Ssekiboobo.
  4. Bulemeezi headed by the Kangawo.
  5. Mawokota headed by the Kayima.
  6. Ggomba headed by the Kitunzi.
  7. Buddu headed by the Pokino.
  8. Busiro headed by the Ssebwama.
  9. Busujju headed by the Kasujju.
  10. Butambala headed by the Katambala.
  11. Buvuma headed by the Mbuubi.
  12. Bugerere headed by the Mugerere.
  13. Buweekula headed by the Luweekula.
  14. Buluuli headed by the Kimbugwe.
  15. Kooki headed by the Kamuswaga.
  16. Kabula headed by the Lumaama.
  17. Ssese headed by the Kweba.
  18. Mawogola headed by the Muteesa.
  19. Executive Prime Minister (Katikkiro)

The King appoints the Prime Minister of his choice to help him in the ruling of his Kingdom. He is also traditionally called Kabaka Oweebweru. The Kabaka appoints him and can dismiss him at any given time if he fails his duties.

Economic activities of the Baganda
The main source of income for the Baganda is farming and their main crop is coffee. The staple food for the Baganda is Bananas traditionally called Matooke. The majority of the population in Buganda approximately 85% are subsistence farmers and live in the rural areas.

Indigenous religion of the Baganda
  • The Baganda believed in a spirit world that was beyond the one they could see and this featured strongly at personal level and in matters of state. These spirits were considered at three different levels which include;
  • Katonda who was regarded as the Creator of all things and father of the gods.
  • Lubaale which were know to the Baganda as having been humans who showed exceptional powers when alive and that they were venerated after death. Their spirits were expected to intercede favorably in national matters.

The lesser spirits which were mostly the departed ancestors (Mizimu).

Many people have come up with different theories about the history of the kings of Buganda but however, the truth is that the Kingdom has been in existence since time in memorial. The following are some of the renowned kings of Buganda from Kintu to Bbemba: