• By Our Reporter
  • 13 June, 2022
  • Kasana, Luweero

Kabaka Mutebi graces Bika opener as Engo stun Embwa

Hundreds of Buganda Kingdom subjects flanked the Kasana Luweero playgrounds as His Majesty the King Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II graced the official opening ceremony for the inter-clans 2022 Bika sports (Emipiira gy’Ebika).
In football, Engo (Leopard) overcame Embwa (Dog) 4-2 during a six goal affair at the Kasana (Kosovo) playgrounds in Luweero, Bulemeezi county.
Frank Ssenabulya notched a brace as Derrick Ssekiranda and Micheal Jonah Lubowa.
Kenneth Bagenda replied for Embwa with a well taken brace during the game officiated by omulongo Alex Wasswa Alex.
Engo took the lead before Embwa made it 1-all. Engo restored their lead and Embwa gallantly fought on to make amends 2-2 at the half time break.
In the final half, Engo scored two late goals to bury off the match and earn maximum points on the day.
Referee Wasswa was assisted by Mustapha Mafumu (first assistant) and Richard Mugerwa (second assistant).
In the netball opening match, Embwa revenged with a 26-25 spirited victory for Engo.
The different clan chiefs and Masaza heads, Buganda Kingdom ministers and other officials were among the high profile officials joined the other people.
Both Engo and Embwa have never won this championship since inception in 1950.
This championship is only played by Baganda tribe players.
Mmamba Gabunga is the record champion with 10 titles to their name.
    1951:Ngabi Nsamba
    1952:Mmamba Gabunga
    1953: Not Held
    1954:Not Held
    1956:Mmamba Gabunga
    1957: Nyonyi Nyange
    1958: Ngeye
    1959: Mmamba Gabunga
    1960: Ffumbe
    1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
    1962: Nkima
    1963: Not Held
    1964: Mmamba Gabunga
    1965: Mmamba Gabunga
    1987: Ngabi Nsamba
    1988: Lugave
    1989: Mmamba Gabunga
    1990: Lugave
    1991: Ngeye
    1992: Ngeye
    1993: Nkima
    1994: Mmamba Gabunga
    1995: Lugave
    1996: Mpindi
    1997: Nnyonyi
    1998: Lugave
    1999: Lugave
    2000: Mpologoma
    2001: Ngo
    2002: Mpologoma
    2003: Mmamba Gabunga
    2005: Ffumbe
    2006: Mpindi
    2007: Ngabi Nsamba
    2008: Kkobe
    2009: Ffumbe
    2010: Nte
    2011: Mmamba Gabunga
    2012: Ngeye
    2013: Ngabi Nsamba
    2014: Mmamba Gabunga
    2015: Mbogo
    2016: Nte
    2017: Nte
    2018: Nkima
    2019: Mbogo
Posted by Buganda Kingdom